Mailbox Monday and It's Monday, What Are You Reading? September 29 Edition

>>  Monday, September 29, 2014

Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia who now blogs at To Be Continued. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Mailbox Monday now has a permanent home on its blog. Link up to share your MM.

Very excited about this title. It's on tour with Italy Book Tours from Nov 17 to Dec 5. Watch out for a giveaway during the tour.

Botticelli's Bastard by Stephen Maitland-Lewis

Art restorer Giovanni Fabrizzi is haunted by an unsigned renaissance portrait. Obsessed to learn the truth of its origin, he becomes increasingly convinced the painting could be the work of one of history’s greatest artists, which if true, would catapult its value to the stratosphere. But in learning of the painting’s past, he is faced with a dilemma. 

He believes the portrait was stolen during the greatest art heist in history—the Nazi plunder of European artwork. If true and a surviving relative of the painting’s rightful owner were still alive, Giovanni, in all good conscience, would have to give up the potential masterpiece. His obsession with the portrait puts a strain on his new marriage, and his son thinks his father has lost his mind for believing an unremarkable, unsigned painting could be worth anyone’s attention. Regardless, Giovanni persists in his quest of discovery and exposes far more truth than he ever wanted to know.






This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we keep track of what we are currently reading and plan to read.  The kidlit version is hosted by Jen at Teach Mentor Texts.

Not much reading done this week. I revamped my office! It needed a make-over.

Posted this past week:

Book Spotlight and Giveaway: Whiny Whiny Rhino by McBoop (Watch for my review this week)

Up Next:

I have a list of books I need to read for October. Not sure where to start. Hope you are all having a great start to your reading week.

If you are reviewing audiobooks, don't forget to link up to LISTEN UP! so that others can read your review too and discover great audiobooks!

Laura

Read more...

Book Spotlight and Giveaway: Whiny Whiny Rhino by McBoop

>>  Monday, September 22, 2014

Today starts the virtual blog tour for Whiny Whiny Rhino, an absolutely adorable children's book, written and illustrated by the father-daughter team McBoop. My son and I will be reviewing this on Oct 2. Enter the giveaway to win one of fourteen copies!


About the book:

Can Tiny Tiny Rhino have a fun day?
Or will all of his whining get in the way?

If you've ever been worried to try something new,
then Whiny Whiny Rhino is the book for you!

The story’s message is like the Mark Twain quote, “I’ve had a lot of worries in my life, most of which never happened.” We all get apprehensive when encountering new experiences and this often leads us to avoid ever trying anything new. Just having a little courage to try new things can often lead to a much more exciting and enriching life.


a Rafflecopter giveaway

Read more...

Mailbox Monday and It's Monday, What Are You Reading? Sept 22 Edition

>>  Sunday, September 21, 2014


Mailbox Monday was created by Marcia who now blogs at To Be Continued. It is the gathering place for readers to share the books that came into their house last week. Mailbox Monday now has a permanent home on its blog. Link up to share your MM.

What a hectic and exciting week for me. My tour companies are keeping me busy, and I was on The Mia Connect Power Chat show on Friday, where the topic was about book blogging! If you missed it, you can catch it here or just below. The panel was made up of myself, along with Vera @ Luxury Reading and Jessica @ Crossroad Reviews. We had so much fun doing this! We introduced a whole new audience to book bogging. Yay!



One book in my mailbox!

Very excited about this title. It's on tour with Italy Book Tours from Oct 20 to 31. Watch out for a giveaway during the tour.

Juliet's Nurse by Lois Leveen

In Verona, a city ravaged by plague and political rivalries, a mother mourning the death of her day-old infant enters the household of the powerful Cappelletti family to become the wet-nurse to their newborn baby. As she serves her beloved Juliet over the next fourteen years, the nurse learns the Cappellettis’ darkest secrets. Those secrets—and the nurse’s deep personal grief—erupt across five momentous days of love and loss that destroy a daughter, and a family.

By turns sensual, tragic, and comic, Juliet’s Nurse gives voice to one of literature’s most memorable and distinctive characters, a woman who was both insider and outsider among Verona’s wealthy ruling class. Exploring the romance and intrigue of interwoven loyalties, rivalries, jealousies, and losses only hinted at in Shakespeare’s play, this is a never-before-heard tale of the deepest love in Verona—the love between a grieving woman and the precious child of her heart.

In the tradition of Sarah Dunant, Philippa Gregory, and Geraldine Brooks, Juliet’s Nurse is a rich prequel that reimagines the world’s most cherished tale of love and loss, suffering and survival.






This meme is hosted by Sheila at Book Journey. This is where we keep track of what we are currently reading and plan to read.  The kidlit version is hosted by Jen at Teach Mentor Texts.

I didn't post any of my own reviews this week. But I'm finishing up Mao's Last Dancer which is one of the best autobiographies I've read. Watch for my review next month.

Read and reviewed:
Another Summer by Rebecca Stevenson (reviewed by Sandra)
The Missing Heir by Linda Weaver Clarke (reviewed by Sandra)

If you are reviewing audiobooks, don't forget to link up to LISTEN UP! so that others can read your review too and discover great audiobooks!

Up next:

Remake by Ilima Todd






Read more...

The Missing Heir - Amelia Moore Detective Series (Book 3) by Linda Weaver Clarke

>>  Friday, September 19, 2014



The Missing Heir – Amelia Moore Detective Series (Book 3) by Linda Weaver Clarke
ISBN: 978-1500114596
Published by: Red Mountain Shadows Publishing
Published: September 20, 2014
Paperback, 211 pages

Amelia Moore runs an investigation service, specializing in missing persons. She is ably assisted by Rick Bonito, a handsome, charming investigator. Their cases have taken them to a lot of interesting and exotic places. And, Amelia always solves the case. This is the third book in the Amelia Moore Detective Series, the two previous books being The Shamrock Case and The Bali Mystery.

Robert & Jenny Walker storm into Amelia’s office wanting her to find their cousin, Neal, heir to a fortune and owner of an orphanage in Mexico. He has been missing for two months. His inheritance will be forfeit if he doesn’t soon turn up to claim it and the orphanage will be sold.  Amelia agrees to take the case with only 7 days to find him.  Amelia and Rick quickly head to Veracruz, Mexico where Neal was last seen.

True to form, the author evokes a certain feeling for the country in which the mystery takes place. In this case, Mexico, replete with Mexican food, hot peppers, fiestas, and mariachi bands playing folk music.

I didn’t really learn anything new about Amelia and Rick. They are still attracted to each other, romantically involved and they still have their respective “bucket lists”.

This is a cozy mystery, which is, in the words of the author, “A cozy is an enjoyable story with a bit of humor. It can be slow paced but not boring by any means. The sleuth is always an intelligent and likeable woman.”

This is an entirely clean read that will appeal to fans of cozy mysteries, romance, and arm-chair travelogues.

Note: This book is rated C = clean read.

Reviewed by Sandra

 Disclosure: Thanks to Linda Weaver Clarke for sending me this book for review. I was not compensated in any other way, nor told how to rate or review this product.



Linda Weaver Clarke travels throughout the United States, teaching people to write their family history and autobiography. She has traveled to seventeen states and given over 450 workshops. Clarke is the author of six historical sweet romances, four mystery adventure novels, a children’s book, and a new cozy mystery series. She is also the author of an award-winning sweet romance, Melinda and the Wild West, for the “Reviewers Choice Award.” All her books are family friendly.

Learn more about the author at: www.lindaweaverclarke.com

Read more...

Another Summer by Rebecca Stevenson

>>  Wednesday, September 17, 2014

Another Summer by Rebecca Stevenson
ISBN: 978-1625260826
Published by: Solstice Publishing
Published: June 2014
Trade paperback, 154 pages

Literary agent Tracy Ratcliffe rents a cottage in charming Wentworth Cove, Maine, for a month, to “get away from it all” and relax. “Grayson Cottage was smaller, but more charming, than she’d imagined; a butter yellow clapboard with white trim, window boxes full of ruby red geraniums, pink and white dahlias lining a short curved stone walkway from the street to the front door.”

Tracy is charmed by the delightful town and its friendly people, but a certain feeling of unease begins to grow when a couple of the townspeople seem to recognize her.  She discovers a portrait that bears a striking resemblance to her. She wonders about the circumstances of her mother’s visit 30 years earlier – another summer. Enter tall, dark, handsome, but taciturn Nathan Norsworthy and the stage is set for an engaging read.

I felt that I knew Tracy personally and could relate to her as she muses “what was it about dark wooden shelves filled with books that made her heart skip a beat?”

I loved the descriptions of Maine with its quaint villages, sandy beaches, rocky coast, sunsets, and delicious clam chowder. And what a perfect book cover - a young woman looking out at the endless ocean!

It is an excellent debut novel with stories left untold, I think. I’d like to know more about Maggie and John.

The novel flows well, is a quick, easy read, and entirely clean.

Note: This book is rated C = clean read.

Reviewed by Sandra









Disclosure: Thanks to Rebecca Stevenson for sending me this book for review. I was not compensated in any other way, nor told how to rate or review this product.

Read more...
"The man who does not read good books has no advantage over the man who can't read them."
— Mark Twain

Find the best prices for the books you love!

CanadianPlanet

  © Blogger templates Sunset by Ourblogtemplates.com 2008

Back to TOP